Kootenai County, Idaho

Lake Coeur d'Alene
Lake Coeur d'Alene
Cities & Towns:
Coeur d'Alene
Dalton Gardens
Fernan Lake Village
Hayden Lake
Post Falls
Spirit Lake
State Line

Kootenai County is in the panhandle of Idaho with Washington to the west. Named after the Kootenai Nation of Native Americans, Kootenai County was founded in 1864 and contains 1,245 square miles of land and 71 square miles of water. The county seat is Coeur d'Alene.

Kootenai County, Idaho
Fast Facts about Kootenai County, Idaho
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 92.5%
Hispanic: 3.4%
Native American: 0.7%
Two or More Races: 2.6%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 77%
Government Sector: 13%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 9%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 112 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Kootenai County: 89.4
2009 Estimates:
Population: 139,390
Males: 68,998
Females: 70,392
Median Resident Age: 36.1 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $46,500
Estimated Median Home Value: $170,500
Major Industries:
Lodging & Food Services, Educational Services, Wood Products, Construction, Health Care, Professional Services, Government, Finance & Insurance Services, Retail Services, Transportation Services
Photo of Lake Coeur d'Alene is courtesy of Jami Dwyer, CCA ShareAlike 3.0 License.
Lower photo courtesy of, CCA ShareAlike 3.0 License.
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.