Carter County, Montana

Cities & Towns:

Carter County is in the southeastern corner of Montana with Wyoming to the south and South Dakota to the east. Formed in 1917, Carter County contains 3,340 square miles of land and 9 square miles of water. The county seat is Ekalaka.

Fast Facts about Carter County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 98.9%
Native American: 0.8%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 41%
Government Sector: 13%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 41%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 5%
Population Density: 0.4 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Carter County: 81.8
2009 Estimates:
Population: 1,202
Males: 585
Females: 617
Median Resident Age: 41.8 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $33,700
Estimated Median Home Value: $90,400
Major Industries:
Agriculture & Forestry, Health Care, Educational Services, Construction, Lodging & Food Services, Repair & Maintenance, Government, Mining, Finance & Insurance Services, Retail Services
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.