Fergus County, Montana

Judith Mountains, Fergus County, Montana
The Judith Mountains, east of Lewistown
Cities & Towns:
Grass Range
Lewistown Heights

Fergus County is in central Montana with the Upper Missouri National Wild and Scenic River corridor along its northern boundary. Fergus County was formed in 1885 and contains 4,339 square miles of land and 11 square miles of water. The county seat is Lewistown.

Judith Mountains, Fergus County, Montana
Looking down across the Judith Mountains
Fast Facts about Fergus County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 95.2%
Hispanic: 0.9%
Native American: 2.3%
African-American: 0.8%
Asian: 0.5%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 58%
Government Sector: 19%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 21%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 2%
Population Density: 3 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Fergus County: 84.8
2009 Estimates:
Population: 11,208
Males: 5,458
Females: 5,750
Median Resident Age: 42.4 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $39,000
Estimated Median Home Value: $105,800
Major Industries:
Agriculture & Forestry, Health Care, Educational Services, Construction, Government, Social Services, Repair & Maintenance, Finance & Insurance Services, Lodging & Food Services
Judith Mountains, Montana
In the heart of the Judith Mountains
Photos of the Judith Mountains are courtesy of the Bureau of Land Management
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.