Gallatin County, Montana

Gallatin County, Montana
Cities & Towns:
Big Sky
Four Corners
Three Forks
West Yellowstone
Willow Creek

Gallatin County is in south central Montana with Wyoming and Idaho to the south. The west gate to Yellowstone National Park is here, as is Big Sky Resort, Bridger Bowl Ski Area and Bozeman Hot Springs.

The Gallatin River was named by Meriwether Lewis for Albert Gallatin (US Treasury Secretary from 1801-1814). Gallatin County got the name from the river. Gallatin County was founded in 1864 and contains 2,606 square miles of land and 26 square miles of water. The county seat is Bozeman. Bozeman is also the home of Montana State University.

Fast Facts about Gallatin County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 93.7%
Hispanic: 2.5%
Asian: 1.1%
Native American: 0.9%
African-American: 0.5%
Two or More Races: 1.1%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 70%
Government Sector: 18%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 11%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 35 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Gallatin County: 93.2
2009 Estimates:
Population: 90,343
Males: 46,978
Females: 43,365
Median Resident Age: 30.7 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $45,600
Estimated Median Home Value: $273,000
Major Industries:
Educational Services, Lodging & Food Services, Construction, Professional Services, Health Care, Agriculture & Forestry, Social Services, Government, Entertainment & Recreation, Repair & Maintenance, Finance & Insurance Services
Photos courtesy of, CCA ShareAlike 3.0 License.
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.