Jefferson County, Montana

Jefferson County Courthouse, Montana
Jefferson County Courthouse in Boulder
Cities & Towns:
Jefferson City
Montana City

Jefferson County is in central Montana, east of Butte and south of Helena. Jefferson County was founded in 1864 and contains 1,657 square miles of land and 2 square miles of water. The county seat is Boulder.

Fast Facts about Jefferson County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 94.5%
Hispanic: 1.9%
Native American: 1.1%
Two or More Races: 2.0%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 57%
Government Sector: 31%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 11%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 7 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Jefferson County: 87.3
2009 Estimates:
Population: 11,470
Males: 5,758
Females: 5,712
Median Resident Age: 40.2 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $53,200
Estimated Median Home Value: $220,500
Major Industries:
Government, Health Care, Educational Services, Construction, Agriculture & Forestry, Mining, Lodging & Food Services, Finance & Insurance Services, Professional Services, Social Services
Photo of Jefferson County Courthouse courtesy of Finetooth, CCA ShareAlike 3.0 License.
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.