Lincoln County, Montana

Lake Koocanusa
Lake Koocanusa
Cities & Towns:

Lincoln County is in the northwestern corner of Montana with Idaho to the west and British Columbia to the north. Turner Mountain Downhill Ski Area is here. Named for President Abraham Lincoln, Lincoln County was formed in 1909 and contains 3,613 square miles of land and 62 square miles of water. The county seat is Libby.

Fast Facts about Lincoln County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 94.4%
Hispanic: 2.0%
Native American: 1.0%
Two or More Races: 2.0%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 65%
Government Sector: 21%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 12%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 5 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Lincoln County: 86.1
2009 Estimates:
Population: 18,717
Males: 9,490
Females: 9,227
Median Resident Age: 42.1 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $34,300
Estimated Median Home Value: $147,900
Major Industries:
Agriculture & Forestry, Wood Products, Health Care, Educational Services, Lodging & Food Services, Retail Services, Government, Social Services, Repair & Maintenance
Lake Koocanusa photo courtesy of Dusti Thompson.
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.