Powell County, Montana

Cities & Towns:
Deer Lodge

Powell County is in west central Montana, west of Helena and north of Butte. The Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site is here. Formed in 1901, Powell County contains 2,326 square miles of land and 7 square miles of water. The county seat is Deer Lodge.

Fast Facts about Powell County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 89.5%
Hispanic: 2.7%
African-American: 0.8%
Native American: 3.2%
Asian: 0.5%
Two or More Races: 3.3%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 55%
Government Sector: 30%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 14%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 3 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Powell County: 85.2
2009 Estimates:
Population: 7,089
Males: 4,175
Females: 2,914
Median Resident Age: 39.7 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $39,200
Estimated Median Home Value: $115,600
Major Industries:
Government, Agriculture & Forestry, Health Care, Wood Products, Educational Services, Lodging & Food Services, Construction, Social Services, Retail Services
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.