Sanders County, Montana

Clark Fork
Clark Fork near Thompson Falls
Cities & Towns:
Hot Springs
Old Agency
Thompson Falls
Trout Creek

Sanders County is in northwestern Montana against the Bitterroot Mountains and Idaho. Part of the Flathead Indian Reservation is here. Sanders County was founded in 1906 and contains 4,435 square miles of land and 45 square miles of water. The county seat is Thompson Falls.

Fast Facts about Sanders County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 90.7%
Hispanic: 2.0%
Native American: 5.1%
Two or More Races: 1.5%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 62%
Government Sector: 18%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 18%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 2%
Population Density: 4 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Sanders County: 87.7
2009 Estimates:
Population: 11,096
Males: 5,603
Females: 5,493
Median Resident Age: 44.2 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $34,400
Estimated Median Home Value: $179,900
Major Industries:
Agriculture & Forestry, Educational Services, Health Care, Construction, Wood Products, Lodging & Food Services, Transportation Services, Retail Services, Repair & Maintenance, Finance & Insurance Services
Photo of Clark Fork © 2003 by K. Armstrong, via
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.