Wibaux County, Montana

Cities & Towns:

Wibaux County is in eastern Montana with North Dakota to the east. Named after a friend of President Theodore Roosevelt (Pierre Wibaux, a cattle baron from North Dakota), Wibaux County contains 889 square miles of land and 1 square mile of water. The county seat is the town of Wibaux.

According to a local story, the town of Wibaux was originally named Mingusville. One day Pierre Wibaux's cowboys surrounded the town and refused to let anyone come or go from the town until all the townspeople signed a petition changing the name of the town from Mingusville to Wibaux. Today, a statue of Pierre Wibaux stands atop a hill west of town, commemorating the fact that his ashes were spread in that area after his death.

Fast Facts about Wibaux County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 93.2%
Native American: 2.8%
Two or More Races: 1.7%
Hispanic: 1.5%
African-American: 0.8%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 55%
Government Sector: 22%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 19%
Homemaker, unpaid: 3%
Population Density: 1 Person per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Wibaux County: 80.5
2009 Estimates:
Population: 897
Males: 512
Females: 555
Median Resident Age: 42.3 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $36,200
Estimated Median Home Value: $57,800
Major Industries:
Agriculture, Forestry, Government, Construction, Educational Services, Health Care, Transportation Services, Lodging & Food Services, Social Services
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.