Cities & Towns:

Otero County is home to the White Sands National Monument, White Sands Missile Range and a large part of Fort Bliss. Sunspot is where the National Solar Observatory is. Alamogordo is also home the the National Space Museum.

Formed in 1899, Otero County contains 6,626 square miles of land and 1 square mile of water.

The county seat is Alamogordo.