Sheridan County is in north central Wyoming on the eastern side of the Bighorn Mountains, with Montana to the north. Part of the Bighorn National Forest is here, too.

Formally organized in 1888, Sheridan County contains 2,523 square miles of land and 4 square miles of water. The county seat is Sheridan.