Cities & Towns:

La Plata County is in the San Juan Mountains in southwestern Colorado. This is the home of Durango and the famous Durango & Silverton Scenic Railroad. Named for the Spanish word for "silver" (la plata),

La Plata County contains 1,692 square miles of land and 8 square miles of water. The county seat is Durango.

La Plata County, Colorado
Below the dam at Lemon Lake
San Juan Skyway, La Plata County, Colorado
San Juan Skyway in La Plata County