Deer Lodge County, Montana

Cities & Towns:

Deer Lodge County is in southwestern Montana, just west of Butte. Anaconda and Deer Lodge County are a consolidated city/county. Biggest thing here is the Anaconda Copper Mine and Smelter. The mine is closed now and everything at the smelter has been bulldozed except the smoke stack. Deer Lodge County was founded in 1864 and contains 737 square miles of land and 4 square miles of water. The county seat is Anaconda.

Fast Facts about Deer Lodge County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 90.5%
Hispanic: 2.2%
Native American: 2.5%
Two or More Races: 3.1%
African-American: 1.5%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 62%
Government Sector: 26%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 11%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 12 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Deer Lodge County: 84.2
2009 Estimates:
Population: 8,792
Males: 4,387
Females: 4,405
Median Resident Age: 42.3 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $33,700
Estimated Median Home Value: $99,700
Major Industries:
Health Care, Lodging & Food Services, Construction, Educational Services, Government, Agriculture & Forestry, Social Services, Repair & Maintenance, Retail Services, Finance & Insurance Services
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.