Lewis and Clark County, Montana

Cities & Towns:
East Helena
Helena Valley NE
Helena Valley NW
Helena Valley SE
Helena Valley WC
Helena West Side

Lewis and Clark County is in west central Montana. It is home to the state capital and the Great Divide Snowsports Ski Area. Lewis and Clark County was originally formed as Edgerton County in 1864, but the name was changed to Lewis and Clark County two years later. Lewis and Clark County contains 3,461 square miles of land and 37 square miles of water. Helena is the county seat.

Fast Facts about Lewis & Clark County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 93.2%
Hispanic: 2.2%
Native American: 1.7%
Two or More Races: 1.7%
Asian: 0.9%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 62%
Government Sector: 28%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 9%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 18 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Lewis and Clark County: 87.3
2009 Estimates:
Population: 61,942
Males: 30,414
Females: 31,528
Median Resident Age: 38.0 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $47,900
Estimated Median Home Value: $187,800
Major Industries:
Government, Health Care, Construction, Educational Services, Lodging & Food Services, Professional Services, Finance & Insurance Services, Agriculture & Forestry, Social Services
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.