Ravalli County, Montana

Cities & Towns:

Ravalli County is in western Montana with Idaho to the west. The southeastern county line is the Continental Divide. The Sleeping Child Hot Springs are here. Ravalli County was named for an Italian Jesuit priest named Father Anthony Ravalli, who came to the county in 1845. Ravalli County was founded in 1893 and contains 2,394 square miles of land and 6 square miles of water. The county seat is Hamilton. Because Ravalli County is bordered by the Sapphire Mountains on the east and the Bitterroot Mountains on the west, it is often referred to as the Bitterroot Valley.

Fast Facts about Ravalli County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 94.6%
Hispanic: 2.6%
Native American: 1.1%
Two or More Races: 1.2%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 67%
Government Sector: 14%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 18%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 17 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Ravalli County: 92.7
2009 Estimates:
Population: 40,431
Males: 20,094
Females: 20,337
Median Resident Age: 41.1 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $41,000
Estimated Median Home Value: $242,300
Major Industries:
Educational Services, Health Care, Construction, Agriculture & Forestry, Wood Products, Professional Services, Lodging & Food Services, Finance & Insurance Services, Repair & Maintenance, Social Services
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.