Nye County, Nevada

Nye County is in south central Nevada. Part of Death Valley is here, as is the Amargosa Desert. The Nevada Test Site and the proposed Yucca Mountain Nuclear Waste Repository are here, too. Nye County was named for James W. Nye, a governor of Nevada Territory and later US Senator from Nevada. Nye County contains 18,147 square miles of land and 12 square miles of water, making Nye County the 3rd largest county in the 48 contiguous states. 92% of Nye County is owned by the federal government. There are no incorporated cities in the county. The county seat is Tonopah.

Nye County is one of 11 counties in Nevada where the world's oldest profession is legal (although regulated and taxed).

Fast Facts about Nye County, Nevada
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 84.7%
Hispanic: 8.4%
African-American: 1.2%
Native American: 3.4%
Other: 3.0%
Two or More Races: 3.1%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 74%
Government Sector: 18%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 7%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 2 People per Square Mile
2009 Cost of Living Index for Nye County: 84.9
2009 Estimates:
Population: 44,234
Males: 22,692
Females: 21,542
Median Resident Age: 42.9 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $43,100
Estimated Median Home Value: $165,230
Major Industries:
Entertainment & Recreation, Educational Services, Construction, Lodging & Food Services, Mining, Government, Waste Management Services, Health Care, Finance & Insurance Services logo
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.