Aerial view of Albuquerque
An aerial view of Albuquerque

Bernalillo County straddles the Rio Grande Valley in the center of New Mexico. Bernalillo County is the home of Albuquerque and is the most densely populated county in the state. Albuquerque is sometimes known as the "Duke City" (it was named for the "Duc de Alburquerque" back in the early 1700's).

Bernalillo County was formed in 1852 and contains 1,166 square miles of land and 3 square miles of water. The county seat is Albuquerque.