Beaverhead County, Montana

Bighole River, Beaverhead County, Montana
Fishing on the Big Hole River in Beaverhead County
Cities & Towns:

Beaverhead County is in southwestern Montana with Idaho to the south and west (the boundary is actually the Continental Divide). Interstate 15 bisects the county north and south. The Red Rock Lakes National Wildlife Refuge is here, as is a Lewis and Clark Memorial and the Sacajawea Historic Area near Lemhi Pass.

Beaverhead County was founded in 1864 and contains 5,542 square miles of land and 30 square miles of water. The county seat is Dillon.

Beaverhead County Courthouse, Dillon, Montana
Beaverhead County Courthouse in Dillon
Fast Facts about Beaverhead County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 92.5%
Hispanic: 3.5%
Native American: 1.0%
Asian: 1.4%
Two or More Races: 1.2%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 63%
Government Sector: 25%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 11%
Homemaker, Unpaid: 1%
Population Density: 2 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Beaverhead County: 86.5
2009 Estimates:
Population: 8,976
Males: 4,596
Females: 4,380
Median Resident Age: 37.6 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $37,100
Estimated Median Home Value: $162,300
Major Industries:
Agriculture & Forestry, Educational Services, Lodging & Food Services, Health Care, Construction, Government, Finance & Insurance Services, Mining, Professional Services
Top photo of the Big Hole River Recreation Sites is courtesy of the Bureau of Land Management
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.