Yellowstone County, Montana

Yellowstone County is in south central Montana. Part of the Crow Indian Reservation is here. The Yellowstone River bisects the county, cutting it roughly in half. Yellowstone County was formed in 1883 and contains 2,635 square miles of land and 14 square miles of water. The county seat (and largest city in Montana) is Billings. Yellowstone County is the most populous county in Montana and is projected to reach a total population of 170,088 in 2025.

Fast Facts about Yellowstone County, Montana
Resident Racial Breakdown:
White Non-Hispanic: 87.4%
Hispanic: 5.1%
Native American: 3.6%
Asian: 0.9%
Two or More Races: 1.8%
African-American: 0.9%
Types of Jobs:
Private Sector, wages or salary: 79%
Government Sector: 12%
Unincorporated, Self-Employed: 8%
Population Density: 55 People per Square Mile
2011 Cost of Living Index for Yellowstone County: 86.7
2009 Estimates:
Population: 144,797
Males: 70,661
Females: 74,136
Median Resident Age: 36.9 Years
Estimated Median Household Income: $47,200
Estimated Median Home Value: $172,400
Major Industries:
Health Care, Educational Services, Lodging & Food Services, Professional Services, Construction, Government, Social Services, Automotive Services
Text Copyright © by All rights reserved.