Cities & Towns:
San Antonio

Socorro County is in central New Mexico. The Trinity Site is in the southeastern corner of the county while the National Radio Astronomy Observatory's VLA Telescope is in the western part of the county. New Mexico Technical & Mining Institute is located in Socorro.

Formed in 1850, Socorro County contains 6,646 square miles of land and 2 square miles of water.

The county seat is Socorro.